Identity and access management software compared
Eight identity and access management products compared on checked prices, SSO, SCIM deprovisioning behavior, access policies and licensing traps.
Also searched as iam, single sign-on, sso
- Products checked
- 8
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
- Order of the list
- Alphabetical
8 products meet the inclusion criteria. Reviews are not open yet, so the list is in alphabetical order and carries no scores.
Compare at a glance
| Auth0Okta, Inc. (Auth0) | $35 a month | Yes | No | Not stated | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| authentikauthentik Security | $0.02 a month | Yes | No | Not stated | Open Source (SAML and OIDC) | November 4, 2026 |
| DescopeDescope, Inc. | $249 a month | Yes | No | Not stated | Free Forever (3 SSO connections) | November 4, 2026 |
| Google Cloud IdentityGoogle LLC | $6 a month | Yes | No | Not stated | Free and Premium (SAML apps) | November 4, 2026 |
| JumpCloudJumpCloud Inc. | $3 a month | No | 30 days | Yes | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
| Microsoft Entra IDMicrosoft Corporation | $7 a month | Yes | No | Not stated | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
| Okta Workforce IdentityOkta, Inc. | $6 a month | No | No | Yes | Starter | November 4, 2026 |
| Ping IdentityPing Identity Corporation | Price on request | No | No | Not stated | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
Starting prices use the cheapest plan with a published price. Where a vendor only quotes, the table says so. Open a product for plan-by-plan prices and the page each figure came from.
Our notes
Identity and access management software decides who can sign in to which applications, creates and removes their accounts, and applies rules to each sign-in. The eight products on this page each offer single sign-on, user provisioning and deprovisioning, and access policies. We read the prices and capability claims on each vendor's own pages on November 4, 2026, and every product page links to the sources we used.
What a product must do to be listed
We list a product only when the vendor's own documentation or product page shows all three capabilities. Single sign-on means one login that opens many applications through a standard such as SAML or OpenID Connect. User provisioning and deprovisioning means the product creates, updates and removes accounts in other applications, usually through the SCIM protocol. Access policies means rules that grant, deny or add a step to a sign-in based on conditions.
Several well-known products failed that test on the evidence we could find. Cisco Duo documents single sign-on and access policies, but its pricing page names no provisioning feature. Keycloak's own site documents single sign-on, and its guide lists SCIM only in a table of contents we could not read in full. We left both out of this edition rather than guess. Zoho Directory's pricing page showed no dollar amounts when we read it, so we could not list it with a verified price.
Two different buyers
The products split into two groups, and the first decision is which group fits. Workforce identity products manage the employees of one company and the SaaS apps those employees use. Okta, Microsoft Entra ID, JumpCloud, Ping Identity and Google Cloud Identity are built mainly for that job. authentik covers it too, and can also serve customer sign-ins.
Customer identity products sit inside a software product and sign in that product's own users, including the staff of business customers who want to connect their own identity provider. Auth0 and Descope are built for that. A company that buys one of them mostly to run employee single sign-on is using it for a job it was not designed around, and the pricing, which counts monthly active users, shows the difference.
How the prices work
Prices in this category are hard to compare because each vendor charges for a different unit. The figures below are US list prices in dollars. Taxes and local pricing can change them.
Okta charges per user per month, billed annually, with a $1,500 annual contract minimum. Its Starter suite costs $6 and includes single sign-on and multi-factor authentication. Lifecycle Management, the part that provisions and removes accounts, is a paid add-on on Starter and is included from Core Essentials at $14 and Essentials at $17. Professional and Enterprise are quote-only.
Microsoft Entra ID P1 costs $7 per user per month and P2 costs $10, both paid yearly. Entra ID Free exists, requires an Azure subscription, and lists unlimited single sign-on. Conditional Access policies need P1. Risk-based policies need P2, because they depend on Entra ID Protection. The Entra Suite costs $12 and requires P1 or a plan that includes it.
JumpCloud sells packages and add-ons. Its SSO package costs $11 per user per month billed annually or $13 billed monthly. User Lifecycle Management and Conditional Access are each listed à la carte at $3 annually or $4 monthly per user. A 30-day trial is available. Suspended users stay billable, and invoicing is offered only for accounts above $2,000 a month.
Google Cloud Identity Free has no per-user charge. Premium costs $7.20 per user per month on a flexible plan. A one-year commitment brings it to $6, and cancelling early does not reduce what is owed. authentik's open-source edition is free to self-host, and its Enterprise edition costs $5 per workforce user per month, billed annually. Customer accounts cost $0.02 per user per month.
Ping Identity publishes no price. Its pricing page says tiers depend on identity count and type, deployment model and chosen capabilities, and it directs buyers to a sales team for a quote.
Customer identity pricing counts users differently
Auth0 and Descope charge by monthly active users, and both include a free tier. Auth0's Free plan covers up to 25,000 monthly active users with one enterprise connection. Descope's Free Forever plan covers 7,500 users and 3 SSO connections.
The business-to-business plans add connections as a cost. At 500 monthly active users, Auth0's B2B Essentials plan costs $150 a month and includes 3 enterprise connections, and B2B Professional costs $800 and includes 5. Extra connections cost $100 a month each, up to 30. Yearly billing costs 11 times the monthly price.
Descope Pro starts at $249 a month and Growth at $799, both billed annually. They include 5 and 10 SSO connections. Usage-based overages apply on both, and the pricing page does not publish the per-unit rates. A software company with many enterprise customers should model the connection count first, because each customer's identity provider usually needs its own connection.
Okta sells a separate Customer Identity line. Its Enterprise base platform costs $3,000 a month, billed annually, and the B2B Suite that adds Lifecycle Management is quote-only.
Deprovisioning is where products differ
Every product here can create accounts in other apps. What happens when someone leaves differs, and the difference matters for licenses, data and security.
Microsoft Entra disables a user in the target app by default when the person goes out of scope or is disabled, and sends a delete request when the user is hard-deleted in Entra. Entra hard-deletes users 30 days after they are soft-deleted. Entra's provisioning documentation also says the service cannot read users in nested groups, so access granted through a nested group does not provision.
JumpCloud's custom SCIM integration can provision, update and deprovision users and groups. Its guidance says that unassigning a user leaves the account in the app in an inactive state, and that app support for each action varies. Ping Identity's SCIM connection has an "Enable users deprovision" setting, and a remove action that chooses between deleting and disabling the account.
Auth0 takes the customer-identity route. When an identity provider sets the SCIM active attribute to false, Auth0 blocks the user, ends their sessions and revokes refresh tokens. A hard delete needs a separate SCIM DELETE call. authentik says a removed user is deprovisioned from the target SCIM endpoint. Descope's SCIM support covers provisioning, updating and deprovisioning of users and groups.
The practical check is to remove a test user and then look at the target app. A disabled account can still hold a paid seat. A deleted account can lose the data the business needs to keep.
What access policies mean in each product
The three capabilities overlap, but policies vary most in depth. Okta documents sign-on policies and rules that control how users authenticate, with app-specific sign-on policies. Microsoft describes Conditional Access as if-then statements: if a user wants a resource, then they must complete an action such as multi-factor authentication or use a compliant device.
Microsoft's documentation adds a limit worth knowing. Conditional Access policies are enforced after first-factor authentication is completed, so they are not a front line against attacks such as denial of service. Ping's authentication policies take effect when assigned to an application, and multi-factor steps can be triggered by conditions such as IP range or population.
Google Cloud Identity lists context-aware access as a Premium feature, so the Free edition gives single sign-on to SAML apps without it. authentik policies are reusable checks that can decide whether someone reaches an application. Auth0's documentation describes role-based access control, and Descope describes role-based and fine-grained authorization with relationship-based and attribute-based models. Those are access rules inside an application the buyer builds, which is a different job from controlling employee access to third-party SaaS.
Seat counts and minimums
Minimums change which product is cheapest for a small team. Okta's $1,500 annual contract minimum means a team of 20 on the $6 Starter suite, which comes to $1,440 a year, still pays $1,500. Google Cloud Identity Free and Entra ID Free carry no per-user charge, though Entra ID Free needs an Azure subscription.
Large teams face the opposite problem, because add-ons multiply with headcount. A JumpCloud customer who adds both Lifecycle Management and Conditional Access to the SSO package pays $17 per user per month on annual billing. That figure equals Okta Essentials at $17 and exceeds Core Essentials at $14, so the comparison depends on which capabilities the business needs on day one.
Standards worth knowing
Most of these products rely on SAML 2.0 and OpenID Connect for single sign-on and on SCIM 2.0 for provisioning. A SaaS app that supports SCIM can usually be provisioned from any of these products, but support differs by app. Entra's documentation notes that SCIM endpoints are built by the application vendor, so a missing endpoint is a gap in the app and not in the identity product.
Google's own SCIM documentation says its Cloud Identity SCIM API implements a subset of the two SCIM specifications, RFC 7643 and RFC 7644. Treat any claim of full SCIM support as something to test with the actual apps in use.
What to test during a trial
- Connect two real apps, one over SAML and one over OpenID Connect, and record how long each takes.
- Add a test user to a group, confirm the account appears in a SCIM-enabled app, then remove the user and check whether the account is disabled or deleted.
- Write one policy that requires a second step from an unmanaged device, and one that blocks sign-in from a country the business does not operate in.
- Ask in writing which features sit behind add-ons, and how the price changes at the next user or connection tier.
- Ask how a departing employee's accounts are removed during the notice period, and how fast the change reaches each app.
Pricing pages change often. Each product page shows the date we last verified its prices, and plans above the published tiers are quoted by the vendor.
What a product needs to be listed
- single sign-on
- user provisioning and deprovisioning
- access policies
These are draft criteria. An editor approves them before the category opens.
Products in brief
Okta, Inc. (Auth0)
Auth0 adds MFA to customer-facing apps and is priced by monthly active users, from a free plan to $35 a month for 500 users. Adaptive MFA needs an Enterprise plan with a paid add-on.
- From
- $35 a month
- Free plan
- Yes
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
authentik Security
authentik is an identity provider with a free open-source edition that can be self-hosted. Its Enterprise edition costs $5 per workforce user per month, billed annually. It acts as a SAML provider for single sign-on, provisions users to other apps over SCIM, and decides who reaches an application with reusable policies.
- From
- $0.02 a month
- Free plan
- Yes
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Descope, Inc.
Descope is a developer-focused identity service for apps that sell to businesses. Single sign-on is set up per customer tenant, SCIM provisions and deprovisions users from the customer's identity provider, and roles plus fine-grained authorization decide access. A free plan covers 7,500 monthly active users, and Pro starts at $249 a month billed annually.
- From
- $249 a month
- Free plan
- Yes
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Google LLC
Cloud Identity is Google's identity service for organizations that do not need Workspace. The Free edition includes single sign-on to SAML apps. Premium adds automated user provisioning and context-aware access, and costs $7.20 per user per month on the flexible plan or $6 with a one-year commitment.
- From
- $6 a month
- Free plan
- Yes
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
JumpCloud Inc.
JumpCloud sells MFA as a standalone product at $3 per user per month billed annually, or $4 billed monthly. Conditional Access is a separate $3 line item, so risk-style rules add to the MFA price.
- From
- $3 a month
- Free plan
- No
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Microsoft Corporation
Microsoft Entra ID includes MFA in its free tier, which needs an Azure subscription. Plan P1 costs $7 per user per month and P2 costs $10, both billed yearly. Risk-based Conditional Access is a P2 feature.
- From
- $7 a month
- Free plan
- Yes
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Okta, Inc.
Okta Workforce Identity bundles single sign-on and MFA from $6 per user per month, billed annually with a $1,500 annual minimum. Adaptive MFA is a paid add-on on the Starter suite and is included from Core Essentials upward.
- From
- $6 a month
- Free plan
- No
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Ping Identity Corporation
Ping Identity sells PingOne MFA by quote only. Pricing depends on identity count and type, deployment model and the services chosen, and the pricing page lists no dollar figures.
- From
- Price on request
- Free plan
- No
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Prices across 8 products
- Lowest starting price
- $0.02 a month
- Median starting price
- $6 a month
- Free plan
- 5 of 8
- Free trial
- 1 of 8
- Price on request only
- 1 of 8
Lowest and median prices cover the 7 products with a published flat price in USD.
Who pays us
No product in this category pays us for a subscription, a sponsored placement or an affiliate link.
Payment never changes the order of the list. How we keep it that way
Last updated November 4, 2026: First draft. Eight products checked against vendor pages and documentation.