Skip to content
B2BRated

Accounting software compared

Eight accounting platforms compared on prices checked at the source, ledger and reconciliation access by plan, security statements and who each one fits.

Also searched as bookkeeping software, small business accounting

Products checked
8
Order of the list
Alphabetical

8 products meet the inclusion criteria. Reviews are not open yet, so the list is in alphabetical order and carries no scores.

Compare at a glance

Filter the tableShow only8 of 8 products
Products compared by starting price, plans and security
AcumaticaAcumaticaPrice on requestNoNoNot statedNot stated
DigitsDigits$65 a monthNo30 daysYesNot stated
Dynamics 365 Business CentralMicrosoft$8 a monthNo30 daysNot statedNot stated
FreshBooksFreshBooks$23 a monthNo30 daysNot statedNot stated
PuzzlePuzzle$30 a monthNoNoNot statedNot stated
QuickBooks OnlineIntuit$38 a monthYes30 daysNot statedNot stated
XeroXero Limited$27 a monthNoNoYesNot stated
Zoho BooksZoho Corporation$20 a monthYes14 daysNot statedNot stated

Starting prices use the cheapest plan with a published price. Where a vendor only quotes, the table says so. Open a product for plan-by-plan prices and the page each figure came from.

Our notes

A founder who opens a business checking account in March needs three things by the following spring. One is a ledger that records every transaction. Another is bank transactions that match what the bank says. The last is a set of statements an accountant can use to prepare a return. The eight products on this page each cover those three jobs: a general ledger, bank feeds with reconciliation, and financial statements. We checked every price on the vendor's own website, and each product page links to the pages we used. Prices are in US dollars and apply to US customers. Vendors change tiers and promotions by country, so a buyer elsewhere will see different figures.

What we counted as accounting software

Invoicing tools, expense apps and payroll services overlap with accounting, but they are separate categories on this site. To qualify here, a product had to document a general ledger or chart of accounts, a way to bring in bank transactions and reconcile them, and balance sheet and profit and loss style reports. We left out products where a vendor page did not state one of the three, even when third-party reviews say otherwise. Several well-known names fell out for that reason. Their pricing or feature pages returned errors when we fetched them, or did not mention reconciliation or the ledger, and we did not guess.

The inclusion criteria are still a draft and have not been signed off by an editor. Treat the lineup as provisional until that review happens.

What the IRS expects from your books

Federal law does not require a particular software product. The IRS says you can use any recordkeeping system suited to your business that clearly shows your income and expenses, apart from a few exceptions. What it does expect is a method and a consistent record. Publication 583, revised in December 2024, tells new businesses to decide between a single-entry and a double-entry bookkeeping system and describes double-entry as having built-in checks and balances. It also advises opening a business checking account, keeping it separate from a personal account, and reconciling it each month.

That monthly reconciliation advice is the practical reason bank feeds matter. A feed that brings in transactions saves typing, and a matching screen that ties the ledger to the statement balance catches a duplicated import or a missed deposit before it reaches a tax return. The Small Business Administration lists bank reconciliation among the bookkeeping tasks someone must own, alongside receivables, payables, available cash and payroll, in its guide to managing finances.

The accounting method affects which products fit. Cash and accrual are the two basic methods, and Publication 538 says corporations and partnerships whose average annual gross receipts for the three prior tax years were $26 million or less, indexed for inflation, can generally use the cash method. The figure in that revision, dated January 2022, has since been adjusted, so a growing company should confirm the current threshold with its accountant. A corporation or partnership that fails the test must switch to accrual, and it should check that its software handles accrual books before that day arrives. Puzzle states that it runs cash and accrual books on one ledger. Digits, QuickBooks Online and Xero showed no such statement on the pages we read, so ask about it during a trial.

How long records need to be kept

The IRS gives retention periods in its guidance on how long to keep records. The default is 3 years from the date the return was filed. The period stretches to 6 years if you left out income amounting to more than 25% of the gross income on the return, and to 7 years for a claim involving worthless securities or a bad debt deduction. Employment tax records should be kept at least 4 years. With no return filed, or a fraudulent one, the period has no end.

For a software buyer this turns into an export question. If the vendor account closes, the ledger still has to be producible for years. QuickBooks Online, FreshBooks and Zoho Books each document a general ledger report, and Zoho Books states that its detailed ledger export includes opening and closing balances with a row for every transaction. Ask any vendor you shortlist how a closed account's data can be retrieved and for how long.

Prices and what the cheapest tier leaves out

List prices for a single small company run from $20 a month to $110 per user. Zoho Books charges $20 a month for Standard on monthly billing, or $15 on annual billing. Xero starts at $27 for Early, Puzzle at $30 for Starter, QuickBooks Online at $38 for Simple Start and FreshBooks at $23 for Lite. Digits starts at $65 and Business Central at $80 per user per month, paid yearly.

The entry prices hide plan limits. Xero's Early plan caps invoices at 20 and bills at 5, and the invoice cap covers approving as well as sending. FreshBooks puts the chart of accounts, general ledger report and bank reconciliation on Plus, Premium and Select only, so a buyer who needs accounting pays $43 at list price, not $23. The QuickBooks pricing page lists reconciliation under the Plus tier at $140 a month. Puzzle's AI-prepared reconciliations begin on the $120 Complete plan, while its $30 Starter plan includes cash and accrual books with financial statements.

Two vendors give a free tier. QuickBooks Online has a Free plan for one user, with no accountant access, mobile app access or third-party integrations. Zoho Books is free for businesses with yearly revenue of $50,000 or less, covering one user plus one accountant and 1,000 invoices. Zoho adds $3 a month for each extra user on paid plans.

Promotions make the first months look cheaper. QuickBooks Online paid plans show 50% off for 3 months, Xero shows 80% off for 3 months for new US customers, and FreshBooks shows 80% off for 4 months. Twelve-month cost uses the list price. Xero's Growing plan costs $11.80 a month for three months and $59 after that, which averages about $47 a month over the first year, assuming the promotion applies in full.

Per-user and per-company pricing

Most products here charge one price per company and cap users or invoices by tier. Xero says it has no per-user license fees. Zoho Books includes 3 to 15 users by paid tier, and QuickBooks Online includes 1 to 25. FreshBooks counts billable clients, with 5 on Lite, 50 on Plus and unlimited on Premium, then adds $11 a month for each extra team member.

Business Central prices differently. Essentials is $80 per user per month and Premium is $110, both paid yearly, and Team Members are $8. A five-person finance team on Essentials pays at least $400 a month before any limited users. Microsoft says listed prices are for information and that the actual price appears at checkout. That model suits a company with several finance staff and a need for the full ERP, while a two-person shop will find per-company pricing cheaper.

Acumatica publishes no price. Its pricing page says cost depends on the applications chosen, expected usage and deployment, and it offers a custom pricing review. A buyer should treat it as a quote-only product and compare quotes in writing.

Bank feeds and the reconciliation test

Feeds work through aggregators, and coverage depends on the bank. Puzzle says it connects to 12,000+ banks and cards through Plaid, and Digits lists connections to 12,000+ banks, cards and payroll providers. Zoho Books connects through third-party providers and also imports statements in CSV, TSV, XLS, OFX, QIF and CAMT.053 formats. Business Central needs an administrator to set up the Envestnet Yodlee Bank Feed service, and it imports CSV statement files without it.

Matching quality matters more than feed count. Business Central offers automatic matching with a date tolerance, manual matching and a test report before posting, and a posted reconciliation can be undone. North American installs also have a Bank Rec. Worksheet for checks and deposits that does not import statement files. FreshBooks allows reconciliation through a bank connection or through a manual account with CSV uploads, and only on Plus and above. In a trial, import three months of real transactions, reconcile one month, and see whether the difference reaches zero without manual adjustments.

Security statements

Few vendors state audit reports on the pages we could read. Xero states that it produces SOC 2 reports from independent audits and that it is certified to ISO/IEC 27001:2022. Digits states SOC 2 Type II compliance. For QuickBooks Online, Zoho Books, FreshBooks, Business Central, Puzzle and Acumatica, the security pages we tried either returned errors or did not name a standard, so the product pages leave those fields blank. A missing statement is not evidence of a missing control, and a buyer in a regulated field should ask each vendor for its current report under a nondisclosure agreement.

Who each product suits

A freelancer or one-person company that wants a free start has two documented options: QuickBooks Online Free and Zoho Books Free. Both limit users, and QuickBooks leaves out accountant access, which matters when a bookkeeper joins.

A small team that wants a conventional product with many integrations will compare QuickBooks Online, Xero and Zoho Books. Xero lists 1000+ app integrations on its product page, while QuickBooks Online lists payroll, payments and time tracking connections without a count, and the Zoho page we read gave none. FreshBooks fits a service business that bills a modest number of clients and wants accounting added on a Plus plan.

Startups preparing for investors may look at Puzzle, which offers investor-ready statements, and Digits, which lists live profit and loss, balance sheet and cash flow statements. A company with several finance staff, multiple entities or planned ERP work will compare Dynamics 365 Business Central and Acumatica, whose pricing starts a conversation instead of ending one.

What to test during a trial

  • Import three months of real bank transactions and reconcile the oldest month to its statement.
  • Run the general ledger report for a month and export it to a file.
  • Open the balance sheet and profit and loss for a date range and confirm they tie to the reconciled bank balance.
  • Add a second user, such as an accountant, and note what that costs on the plan you intend to buy.
  • Ask in writing what happens to the ledger export if you cancel, and how long you can retrieve it.

What a product needs to be listed

  • general ledger
  • bank feeds and reconciliation
  • financial statements

These are draft criteria. An editor approves them before the category opens.

Products in brief

  • Acumatica

    Acumatica is a cloud ERP whose financial management covers the general ledger, bank feeds and reconciliation, and customizable financial statements. It publishes no price. Cost is set by the applications a company implements, expected usage and deployment choice, and the page promises unlimited users on one price quoted after a pricing review.

    From
    Price on request
    Free plan
    No
  • Digits

    Digits is AI-assisted accounting software priced per month with no setup fee: Essentials at $65 and Core at $100, with a $250 Pro plan listed as coming soon. Every tier lists bank, card and payroll connections to 12,000+ providers, automated reconciliation and live profit and loss, balance sheet and cash flow statements. Digits states SOC 2 Type II compliance.

    From
    $65 a month
    Free plan
    No
  • Microsoft

    Business Central is Microsoft's accounting and ERP product for growing companies, priced per user per month and paid yearly. Essentials costs $80 and Premium $110 per user, and Team Members at $8 are limited users. Bank statements import as files or through the Envestnet Yodlee feed service, and North American installs also have a separate check-and-deposit worksheet without file import.

    From
    $8 a month
    Free plan
    No
  • FreshBooks

    FreshBooks prices by billable client, not by transaction, with plans for 5, 50 or unlimited clients. The chart of accounts, general ledger report and bank reconciliation are limited to the Plus, Premium and Select plans, so the $23 Lite plan does not include the accounting core. Extra team members cost $11 a month each.

    From
    $23 a month
    Free plan
    No
  • Puzzle

    Puzzle is accounting software for startups that runs cash and accrual books on one real-time ledger. It connects to bank and card accounts through Plaid and prepares financial statements for investors. Plans run from $30 a month for one seat to $360, and AI-prepared reconciliations start on the $120 Complete plan.

    From
    $30 a month
    Free plan
    No
  • Intuit

    QuickBooks Online is Intuit's cloud accounting product, sold in four paid tiers plus a free plan limited to one user. Bank and credit card transactions sync automatically, reconciliation is offered from the Plus tier, and balance sheet, profit and loss and cash flow reports are included. A small team pays from $38 a month at list price for one user and up to $340 a month for 25.

    From
    $38 a month
    Free plan
    Yes
  • Xero Limited

    Xero is cloud accounting with three US plans priced per organization, not per user: the page states no per-user license fees. Bank feeds and bank reconciliation come with every plan, and the entry plan caps sending at 20 invoices and 5 bills a month. Xero states SOC 2 reports and ISO 27001 certification, which few small business tools match.

    From
    $27 a month
    Free plan
    No
  • Zoho Corporation

    Zoho Books has a free plan for businesses with revenue under $50,000 and five paid tiers from $20 a month on monthly billing. Bank feeds and statement imports in six file formats feed a matching tool for reconciliation, and a detailed general ledger report exports opening and closing balances. Profit and loss, balance sheet and cash flow reports are included.

    From
    $20 a month
    Free plan
    Yes

Prices across 8 products

Lowest starting price
$8 a month
Median starting price
$27 a month
Free plan
2 of 8
Free trial
5 of 8
Price on request only
1 of 8

Lowest and median prices cover the 7 products with a published flat price in USD.

Who pays us

No product in this category pays us for a subscription, a sponsored placement or an affiliate link.

Payment never changes the order of the list. How we keep it that way

Latest change: First draft. Eight products checked against vendor pages.