Skip to content
B2B Rated

AP automation software compared

Eight AP automation products compared on invoice capture, approvals and vendor payments, with prices and payment fees checked at the vendor's own site.

Also searched as accounts payable software, bill pay software

Products checked
8
Prices checked
November 4, 2026
Order of the list
Alphabetical

8 products meet the inclusion criteria. Reviews are not open yet, so the list is in alphabetical order and carries no scores.

Compare at a glance

Filter the tableShow only8 of 8 products
Products compared by starting price, plans, security and the date prices were checked
AvidXchangeAvidXchangePrice on requestNoNoNot statedNot statedNovember 4, 2026
BILLBILL$49 a monthNoNoYesEnterpriseNovember 4, 2026
Brex Bill PayBrex$12 a monthYesNoYesOffered on Brex; plan not statedNovember 4, 2026
MediusMediusPrice on requestNoNoNot statedNot statedNovember 4, 2026
MelioMelio$25 a monthYes90 daysYesNot statedNovember 4, 2026
Ramp Bill PayRamp$15 a monthYesNoYesSupported through Okta, Google and Microsoft Azure; plan not statedNovember 4, 2026
StampliStampliPrice on requestNoNoNot statedNot statedNovember 4, 2026
TipaltiTipalti$99 a monthNoNoYesNot statedNovember 4, 2026

Starting prices use the cheapest plan with a published price. Where a vendor only quotes, the table says so. Open a product for plan-by-plan prices and the page each figure came from.

Our notes

AP automation software takes a supplier invoice from the moment it arrives to the moment the supplier is paid. It reads the invoice into structured data, sends it to the right people for approval, and then pays the supplier by ACH, check, card or wire, usually posting the result to the accounting system. The eight products on this page each state all three of those capabilities on their own sites: invoice capture, approval workflows and vendor payments. We read those pages on November 4, 2026, and each product page links to the exact ones we used. We did not run hands-on tests of any product for this draft, so the notes below describe what vendors state, not how the software behaves in daily use.

Who this category is for

A bookkeeper at a ten-person company and an AP manager at a business with several legal entities both pay bills, but they need very different tools. The small team wants to stop typing invoices into QuickBooks and stop writing checks. The larger team wants purchase order matching, approval limits by department and a payment run that follows the audit rules of its ERP.

That split shows up directly in how these eight products are sold. BILL, Melio, Ramp Bill Pay and Brex Bill Pay publish prices and let a small business start without talking to anyone. Tipalti publishes a starting price but sells the rest by quote. Stampli, Medius and AvidXchange publish no prices at all and send buyers to a sales team.

What we required to include a product

A product qualifies only if a page on its own site states that it does all three of the following.

  • Invoice capture: reading invoices that arrive by email, upload or portal into structured fields, not only manual entry.
  • Approval workflows: routing an invoice to approvers by rules such as amount, vendor or department.
  • Vendor payments: paying suppliers from inside the product, not only exporting a payment file.

We left out products where we could not find a vendor page stating all three. Yooz did not load for us because its site presented an expired security certificate, so it is not listed. Basware's home page names invoice automation tools but did not describe approval routing or payment execution in the text we could read. QuickBooks Bill Pay is sold with the QuickBooks accounting subscription rather than as a separate AP product. None of these exclusions is a judgment on quality, only on what we could confirm. The inclusion criteria on this page are still a draft and have not been approved by an editor.

What the published prices look like

Four of the eight vendors publish a price list. Their pricing models differ enough that a single comparison number would mislead, so here they are as stated.

BILL charges per user: $49 for Essentials, $65 for Team and $89 for Corporate, each per user per month, with Enterprise by quote. Its pricing page does not say whether those figures assume monthly or annual billing, and the page shows more than one version of its plan tables, so confirm the number at checkout. Ramp has a Free plan at $0 per user, and a Plus plan at $15 per user per month plus a platform fee that depends on team size and is not published. Brex lists Essentials at $0 per user and Premium at $12 per user.

Melio prices by account instead. Go is free for one user, Core is $25 a month on monthly billing or $20 on annual, Boost is $55 or $44, and Unlimited is $80 or $64. Core, Boost and Unlimited show $0 for the first 90 days. Tipalti shows Accounts Payable plans starting at $99 a month with unlimited users, but the page does not label the currency, and per-invoice and per-payment fees are quoted separately.

Medius, Stampli and AvidXchange publish no dollar amounts. Medius offers two packages, AP Essentials and AP 360, and sends buyers to sales for both. Treat any figure you hear from a salesperson as a quote to be written into the contract, not a list price.

Payment fees can outweigh the subscription

The subscription is only part of the cost of paying bills through software. Most of these products also charge per payment, and for a business that pays many suppliers this matters more than the monthly plan.

BILL lists $0.59 for an ACH payment, $1.99 for a mailed check, $19.99 for an international USD wire and 2.9% to pay a supplier by card. Virtual card payments are free. Melio lists $0.50 per ACH payment after each plan's monthly free allowance, which is 5 on Go, 20 on Core, 50 on Boost and unlimited on Unlimited. It charges $1.50 for a check, 2.9% for a card, $20 for a fast check and $50 for an overnight check.

A small worked example shows the gap. A company with three users on BILL Essentials pays $147 a month in subscription fees, and 40 ACH payments add $23.60 at $0.59 each, for $170.60. A company with 40 ACH payments a month on Melio Core pays $25 for the plan plus $10 for the 20 payments above the free allowance, which is $35. The two tools differ in what they include, so the totals are not a verdict, but they show that a quote should be built from your own payment count and not from the plan price.

Brex states that its fees for ACH, wires and checks sit on a separate rates page, and Ramp says its Bill payments are subject to their own terms. Stampli, Medius and AvidXchange state no payment fees on the pages we read. Medius says it returns a monthly vested share of virtual card spend to the customer, which is the opposite of a fee, but it is a feature of a card program and not a guarantee of savings.

Why paper checks are a cost to price

Moving suppliers off paper is a large part of what these products sell. Brex estimates that checks reach the vendor in 7 to 10 business days, against 0 to 1 business days for a domestic wire and 2 to 5 banking days for ACH from an external bank account. Medius says moving suppliers from paper checks to digital payments cuts cost. AvidXchange lists mailed checks as an option next to virtual card and AvidPay Direct, so a supplier who insists on paper can still get it.

The market is moving the same way. Nacha reported that the ACH Network carried 35.2 billion payments worth $93 trillion in 2025, up nearly 5% on 2024, with close to 8.1 billion business-to-business payments. Business payments grew almost 10% in the year. A product that can only mail checks, or that charges heavily for anything else, is going against that trend.

ACH fraud monitoring rules now apply to businesses that send ACH payments

Payments software does not remove a company's own duties under ACH rules. Nacha, which writes the rules for the ACH Network, adopted fraud monitoring requirements that apply in two steps. Phase 1 started on March 20, 2026 for the largest participants. Phase 2 has an official effective date of June 19, 2026, and because that is a federal holiday the practical date was Monday, June 22, 2026. Nacha's page says it covers all non-consumer originators, third-party service providers and third-party senders that were not covered by Phase 1.

For a buyer, the practical question is who the originator is. When a company initiates ACH payments through its own bank, it is the originator. When it pays through a product that sends the payments on its behalf, the product vendor or its bank partner may be acting as a third-party sender with its own monitoring duties. We did not find that question answered on the vendor pages we read, so ask each vendor in writing how it monitors outgoing payments for fraud and what it needs from you.

Contractor payments and the 1099 threshold

AP teams also pay contractors, which brings tax reporting along. The IRS has said that for payments made after December 31, 2025, the minimum amount that triggers a Form 1099-NEC rose from $600 to $2,000, and that the amount can be adjusted for inflation for calendar years after 2026. A business that paid a contractor $1,500 in 2025 was above the old line, and in 2026 it is below the new one.

This changes the value of built-in 1099 filing. Ramp lists 1099 filing at $0.65 per IRS filing with free state filing on its pricing page. The other vendors did not state a 1099 fee on the pages we read, so confirm whether filing is included, priced per form or sold through a separate tax product.

Security statements to ask about

Every vendor here handles bank account numbers and supplier details, so ask for its audit report instead of relying on a logo. What each one states on its own pages differs.

BILL says it undergoes an annual SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II audit. Brex states SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II and PCI-DSS. Ramp states annual SOC 2 Type II audits. Melio states an annual SOC 2 Type II audit and lists ISO/IEC 27001:2022. Tipalti's data processing addendum says it undergoes a SOC 2 Type II audit every year, and the ISO 27001 mention in that document refers to its cloud host, not to Tipalti. AvidXchange shows a PCI DSS compliant logo and says it is guided by COSO, PCI DSS and NIST, but it names no SOC report on the pages we read.

Medius and Stampli state no security certification on the pages we read. Stampli shows an AICPA SOC badge without naming the report type, so request the report itself. Single sign-on is another point to check by plan: BILL lists it on Enterprise, while Brex and Ramp state that they support it without naming a plan.

Contract terms are mostly unpublished

Only two of the eight vendors gave us terms we could quote. BILL's terms say a subscription renews automatically each billing cycle, and that cancellation takes effect on the last day of the current cycle with no prorated refund. Brex's platform agreement has no automatic renewal clause and lets Brex end the agreement with 30 days notice. The others publish pricing or demo pages and keep their contract terms behind a sales conversation.

Ask for the renewal term, the notice period, and the export format before you sign. A supplier master file and invoice history are what you need if you move to another product, and none of the eight pages we read described an export route.

How to choose between the two groups

A company that pays fewer than a few dozen suppliers a month and uses QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite will probably find its answer among the four with published prices. Check which plan adds the accounting sync you need: BILL's two-way QuickBooks Online and Xero sync starts on Team, and its ERP syncs, matching, SSO and API access are Enterprise features.

A company with purchase orders, several entities or suppliers abroad is in the territory of Tipalti, Stampli, Medius and AvidXchange. Tipalti advertises payments in 200+ countries and territories, 120 local currencies and 50+ payment methods. Stampli names QuickBooks, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Microsoft Dynamics, Oracle Fusion, SAP and Acumatica among its ERP integrations. Medius lists SEPA, BACS and CHAPS in Europe next to US ACH and checks, and AvidXchange names QuickBooks, NetSuite, Sage, Acumatica, Yardi and MRI among its integrations, which suggests a focus on property management and similar sectors.

Location matters throughout. All prices here are US dollars as shown to us on the vendors' US sites. Fees, supported countries and payment methods can differ by country, and Medius says its European payment methods apply in Europe while its ACH and check options apply in the US.

What to test during a trial

  • Send an invoice by email from a real supplier and check which fields were read correctly, including tax and line items.
  • Set an approval rule by amount and by department, then submit an invoice that breaks both, and see who is notified.
  • Pay one supplier by ACH and one by check, and compare the fee charged with the pricing page.
  • Ask the vendor in writing how it monitors outgoing ACH payments for fraud under Nacha's June 2026 rules.
  • Export your suppliers and bills, and confirm the file can be opened by another product.

What a product needs to be listed

  • invoice capture
  • approval workflows
  • vendor payments

These are draft criteria. An editor approves them before the category opens.

Products in brief

  • AvidXchange

    AvidXchange sells invoice and payment automation to mid-sized businesses, with no published prices and a demo request instead. Its invoice page describes capture at header and line-item level, approval routing with an AI approval agent, and 2-way or 3-way matching. Suppliers are paid by virtual credit card, AvidPay Direct or mailed check.

    From
    Price on request
    Free plan
    No
    Prices checked
    November 4, 2026
  • BILL

    BILL is a bill pay and AP platform sold per user. The AP and AR plans cost $49, $65 and $89 per user a month for Essentials, Team and Corporate, with Enterprise by quote. Each payment also carries a fee, such as $0.59 for ACH or $1.99 for a mailed check. Two-way sync with QuickBooks Online and Xero starts on Team.

    From
    $49 a month
    Free plan
    No
    Prices checked
    November 4, 2026
  • Brex

    Brex includes bill pay in its spend platform. The Essentials plan costs $0 per user a month and Premium costs $12, with Enterprise by quote. Brex's comparison table lists automatic invoice entry, multi-level approval flows and payment from a Brex account or an external bank account on all three plans. Payment fees sit on a separate rates page.

    From
    $12 a month
    Free plan
    Yes
    Prices checked
    November 4, 2026
  • Medius

    Medius sells AP automation for mid-sized and larger finance teams in two packages, AP Essentials and AP 360, both by quote with no published price. Payment is part of the invoice-to-pay flow, with ACH, electronic checks and virtual card in the US and SEPA, BACS, CHAPS and wires in Europe.

    From
    Price on request
    Free plan
    No
    Prices checked
    November 4, 2026
  • Melio

    Melio is a bill payment tool for small businesses. The Go plan is free for one user, and paid plans run from $25 to $80 a month on monthly billing, or $20 to $64 on annual billing. Each payment has its own fee: a $0.50 ACH payment after the plan's monthly free allowance, $1.50 for a check, and 2.9% for a card.

    From
    $25 a month
    Free plan
    Yes
    Prices checked
    November 4, 2026
  • Ramp

    Ramp sells accounts payable as part of its spend platform. The Free plan lists invoice extraction, approval workflows and payments by ACH, card, check and wire at $0 per user. Plus costs $15 per user a month plus a platform fee based on team size, and the fee amount is not published. Enterprise is by quote.

    From
    $15 a month
    Free plan
    Yes
    Prices checked
    November 4, 2026
  • Stampli

    Stampli is an AP platform that keeps invoice questions, comments and approvals attached to each invoice. Its pricing page shows no dollar amounts and offers a quote request. Invoices arrive by email, upload or vendor portal, and payments go out by ACH, check, virtual card or supported international methods, depending on configuration.

    From
    Price on request
    Free plan
    No
    Prices checked
    November 4, 2026
  • Tipalti

    Tipalti is an AP platform built for companies that pay suppliers abroad. Its pricing page shows Accounts Payable plans starting at $99 a month with unlimited users, then adds per-invoice and per-payment fees by quote. It lists payments in 200+ countries and territories and ERP connections including NetSuite, Sage Intacct and SAP.

    From
    $99 a month
    Free plan
    No
    Prices checked
    November 4, 2026

Prices across 8 products

Lowest starting price
$12 a month
Median starting price
$25 a month
Free plan
3 of 8
Free trial
1 of 8
Price on request only
3 of 8

Lowest and median prices cover the 5 products with a published flat price in USD.

Who pays us

No product in this category pays us for a subscription, a sponsored placement or an affiliate link.

Payment never changes the order of the list. How we keep it that way

Last updated November 4, 2026: First draft. Eight products checked against vendor pages; every price fetched twice.