Employee onboarding software compared
Nine employee onboarding products compared on checklists, e-signed paperwork and new hire access, with published prices and quote-only vendors marked.
Also searched as new hire onboarding
- Products checked
- 9
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
- Order of the list
- Alphabetical
9 products meet the inclusion criteria. Reviews are not open yet, so the list is in alphabetical order and carries no scores.
Compare at a glance
| BambooHRBambooHR | $10 a month | No | No | Yes | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ConnecteamConnecteam | $0.50 a month plus a $29 monthly base fee | Yes | 14 days | Yes | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
| EddyEddy | $4 a month plus a $50 monthly base fee | No | No | Not stated | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
| FactorialFactorial | $8 a month | No | No | Not stated | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
| HR CloudHR Cloud | Price on request | No | No | Yes | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
| NamelyNamely | $9 a month | No | No | Not stated | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
| PaycorPaycor | Price on request | No | No | Not stated | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
| WorkableWorkable | $299 a month | No | 15 days | Yes | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
| Zoho PeopleZoho Corporation | Price on request | Yes | 30 days | Not stated | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
Starting prices use the cheapest plan with a published price. Where a vendor only quotes, the table says so. Open a product for plan-by-plan prices and the page each figure came from.
Our notes
A restaurant group hires eleven people in a week. Each one needs a W-4, an I-9, a direct deposit form and a signed handbook page before the first shift, and the manager who owes those forms is also covering the grill. In that situation the question is not whether to have an onboarding process but where the paperwork lives and who gets nudged when it is late. Employee onboarding software gives each hire a task list, collects and signs the forms, and shows HR which items are still open. This page compares nine products that meet three tests, using each vendor's own pages as read on November 4, 2026.
What counts as employee onboarding software here
A product is listed when the vendor's own pages describe all three of these capabilities.
The first is onboarding checklists: a list of tasks for each new hire that can be reused for a role, assigned to the hire, a manager or IT, and tracked until done. The second is document collection and e-signature: new hires fill in forms such as tax and work authorization paperwork, sign them electronically, and the signed copies are stored with the employee. The third is a new hire portal, which we define loosely as a place where the hire completes steps on their own, before the first day, without an admin keying in the data.
Several vendors do not use the word portal. Eddy says new hires can self-onboard before showing up, BambooHR describes self-onboarding before day one, and Connecteam describes the steps being done in its mobile app. We accepted those descriptions as meeting the third test and say so on each product page when the vendor's text is loose. Products that describe journeys or messages but do not describe document collection were left out, as explained below.
These criteria are a draft and have not yet been approved by an editor.
What the paperwork actually requires
Most of the forms in a new hire packet come from a few federal rules, and knowing them helps you judge what a tool must handle.
Form W-4 is the employee's withholding certificate. The IRS says on its Form W-4 page that the form is completed so an employer can withhold the correct federal income tax from pay, and it suggests completing a new one each year and when personal or financial circumstances change. A good onboarding tool therefore needs to do more than collect the form once. Ask whether an employee can resubmit it later without HR re-sending a packet.
Form I-9 has two halves with different clocks. USCIS says on its Section 1 page that employees must complete Section 1 no later than their first day of employment, and may do so any time after accepting the offer. The employer completes Section 2 within three business days of the hire. That timing is why pre-boarding matters: a tool that lets the hire finish Section 1 at home after accepting the offer leaves the first day free for the employer's document review.
Reviewing the documents usually means looking at them in person. USCIS describes an optional alternative in its employer handbook: employers that participate in E-Verify in good standing may examine documents remotely. An employer that offers the procedure at an E-Verify hiring site must apply it consistently to everyone there, though it may offer it to remote hires only. A company that is not enrolled in E-Verify cannot use the remote option, whatever the software says about remote hiring.
Eddy and Namely both mention I-9 handling on their onboarding pages. Eddy says I-9 verification for managers and admins is done online, and Namely says its I-9 workflow adds secure e-signing with tracking. Neither page says whether the remote procedure is supported, so that is a question for the demo.
Two ways the products are built
The nine products fall into two groups, and the difference matters more than any feature list.
The first group is onboarding inside a wider HR system. BambooHR, Zoho People, Factorial, Namely, Paycor and Workable sit on an employee record. When the hire finishes the packet, the data lands in the same system that will later hold time off, documents and reports. The cost is that you buy, and price, a larger product than the onboarding step alone.
The second group is onboarding as the main product or a focused module. Eddy, HR Cloud and Connecteam lead with new hire packets, task routing or app-based forms, and treat the wider HR record as an extension. HR Cloud sells a plan named Onboard next to Growth and Full Suite, which is the clearest example.
Neither group is better in general. A company that already runs its employee records in one of the first group's products gains little from a second system. A company with no HR system, a handful of managers and a stream of hourly hires may find a packet tool is all it needs for now.
What the published prices say
Only some of these vendors publish a number, and the numbers are not comparable without care.
Eddy lists a Starter plan at $4 per person a month plus a $50 monthly base fee, and Growth at $8 per person plus a $75 base fee. Premium is custom. The page says billing counts active employees only and that service is month to month. A team of 20 on Growth therefore sits at the $8 rate for 20 people plus the base, and the page states no country, so confirm the currency if you are outside the US.
Namely lists NamelyNow as starting at $9 per employee a month and gives no price for NamelyPlus, NamelyPlus People or NamelyComplete. Its pricing page says contract terms run from month to month up to three years. Its onboarding page does not say which package includes onboarding, so ask which one you need.
Workable lists Standard, Premier and Enterprise at $299, $599 and $719 a month on its pricing page, in the band for companies of 1 to 20 employees, and says all three include an onboarding welcome portal, personalized onboarding and onboarding task tracking. Those plans are priced as applicant tracking, with the HR and onboarding features bundled in. Workable's help center describes the situation differently: it lists the new hire portal with e-signatures and custom onboarding tasks under the paid HR package, and says basic HR features available on every plan cover profile completion. Because the two pages differ on e-signatures, ask Workable which plan includes e-signed documents before you sign.
BambooHR's product page lists Core, Pro and Elite at $10, $17 and $25 per employee a month, with flat monthly minimums for companies of 25 or fewer employees. We did not confirm which plan includes the onboarding features, and the pricing page's own wording on that point should be checked live. Connecteam has a free plan for up to 10 users and base fees for its HR and skills hub, and its onboarding page does not state which plan holds the packets.
HR Cloud, Factorial, Zoho People and Paycor publish no full price list for onboarding. HR Cloud quotes an annual company license tied to headcount bands, and its page notes separate options for companies under 250 employees. Factorial says it starts at $8 per user a month with add-on modules unpriced, and it shows a dollar sign with no currency code. Zoho People has a free plan and a 30-day trial, though the pages disagree on the free plan's user limit. Paycor asks for a quote after a short questionnaire.
Which signing features you may not get
E-signature is where plan limits show up. Workable's split between plans is one example. Zoho People's pre-onboarding page says hires can complete paperwork and e-sign documents like the job offer agreement before their start date, but it lists these under its onboarding service, which is a separate module from the core records. Paycor's page says electronically signed forms are stored in the employee's online file with a time stamp, which matters if you are asked for proof of when a form was signed.
Factorial's page says an employee can be asked to sign each document, and Namely's page ties e-signature to its document management. Connecteam says hires can upload documents and certifications in the app and that records carry expiration dates and reminders, which suits roles that need a license on file.
A signed form is only useful if you can find it again. When the demo covers signing, ask to see where the signed copy lands, how long it is kept, and what an export looks like if you leave. None of the pages we read gave a data export process for onboarding records.
Products we left out
Enboarder describes onboarding as journeys that coordinate HR, managers, IT and the new hire, delivered by text and WhatsApp with no passwords or portals. Its page does not mention document collection or e-signature, so it did not meet the second test and is not listed.
Gusto, Justworks and Paylocity blocked or returned no readable text when we fetched their pages, and the Rippling pages we could read did not describe checklists or a new hire portal for Rippling itself. Absence from this page says nothing about quality.
How to shortlist
Start from where your employee data lives today. If you already pay for BambooHR, Zoho People, Paycor or a similar system, test the onboarding module you already have access to before buying a second tool.
If you hire in volume and have no HR system, compare packet tools on three things you can check in a free trial or demo: whether the hire can finish the I-9 Section 1 and W-4 from a phone, whether a task can be assigned to someone other than HR, and whether a late item triggers a reminder without a person remembering to send one.
Then ask each vendor for the plan name that contains those features and the price at your headcount, in writing. For Workable, ask which plan holds e-signatures. For Namely, ask which package holds onboarding. For Eddy, check the currency. Finally, put one real hire's packet through the demo account and confirm the signed I-9 Section 1 is stored with a date you could show an auditor.
What a product needs to be listed
- onboarding checklists
- document collection and e-signature
- new hire portal
These are draft criteria. An editor approves them before the category opens.
Products in brief
BambooHR
BambooHR is a full HR system whose time-off module comes with every plan, at $10, $17 or $25 per employee a month. Companies with 25 or fewer employees pay flat monthly minimums of $250, $425 or $650 instead. That makes it a poor fit for a small team that only wants leave tracking.
- From
- $10 a month
- Free plan
- No
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Connecteam
Connecteam is free for up to 10 users, and its paid HR & Skills hub starts at a $29 monthly base fee that covers the first 30 users on yearly billing. Time off sits inside the HR & Skills hub, with accrual and carry-over periods set per policy. It suits teams with shift or mobile staff more than an office that only needs a holiday calendar.
- From
- $0.50 a month plus a $29 monthly base fee
- Free plan
- Yes
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Eddy
Eddy is a small-business HR system whose onboarding packets give each new hire a task list and online forms to sign, including W-4 and I-9. Pricing is published: $4 or $8 per person a month plus a $50 or $75 monthly base fee, billed month to month with no long contract.
- From
- $4 a month plus a $50 monthly base fee
- Free plan
- No
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Factorial
Factorial is an HR platform whose pricing page says it starts at $8 per user per month. Every plan includes Factorial Core, with an employee directory, onboarding, document sending and e-signature. Time Off and other modules are add-ons whose prices are not listed.
- From
- $8 a month
- Free plan
- No
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
HR Cloud
HR Cloud sells an Onboard plan alongside Growth and Full Suite, aimed at mid-market and hourly workforces. Onboarding tasks route to HR, managers, IT and the new hire, forms are signed online, and new hires get a mobile welcome page. Prices are quote only, on an annual license tied to headcount.
- From
- Price on request
- Free plan
- No
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Namely
Namely is an HR platform with four packages, NamelyNow, NamelyPlus, NamelyPlus People and NamelyComplete. Only NamelyNow has a published price, starting at $9 per employee a month. Its onboarding page covers automated task checklists, document management with e-signature and a tracked I-9 workflow.
- From
- $9 a month
- Free plan
- No
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Paycor
Paycor is an HR and payroll suite with an HR software module for employee information and documents, and an analytics module with custom dashboards and up to seven years of workforce history. Its plans page splits buyers into below 50 employees and 50 or more, and asks for a custom quote.
- From
- Price on request
- Free plan
- No
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Workable
Workable sells three applicant tracking plans priced by company size, and the page shows only the 1 to 20 employee band: $299, $599 and $719 a month. Texting, video interviews and assessments cost extra on the cheapest plan, and its AI agents draw on prepaid credits.
- From
- $299 a month
- Free plan
- No
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Zoho Corporation
Zoho People is an HRIS with a free plan and four paid plans: Essential HR, Professional, Premium and Enterprise. Paid plans need at least 5 users and come with a 30-day trial. The pricing pages we could read show no dollar amounts, and they disagree on how many users the free plan allows.
- From
- Price on request
- Free plan
- Yes
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Prices across 9 products
- Lowest starting price
- $0.50 a month
- Median starting price
- $8.50 a month
- Free plan
- 2 of 9
- Free trial
- 3 of 9
- Price on request only
- 2 of 9
Lowest and median prices cover the 6 products with a published flat price in USD.
Who pays us
No product in this category pays us for a subscription, a sponsored placement or an affiliate link.
Payment never changes the order of the list. How we keep it that way
Last updated November 4, 2026: First draft. Nine products checked against vendor pages on November 4, 2026.