Skip to content
B2BRated

Corporate LMS software compared

Seven corporate learning management systems compared on published prices, minimums, assignment rules, reporting and security checked at the source.

Also searched as lms, employee training software

Products checked
7
Order of the list
Alphabetical

7 products meet the inclusion criteria so far. We open rankings for a category once at least 8 do and verified reviews are in. Until then the list is alphabetical.

Compare at a glance

Filter the tableShow only7 of 7 products
Products compared by starting price, plans and security
360Learning360Learning$8 a monthNo30 daysNot statedNot stated
Absorb LMSAbsorb SoftwarePrice on requestNoNoNot statedNot stated
DoceboDoceboPrice on requestNoNoYesNot stated
iSpring LearniSpring Solutions$3.97 a monthNo30 daysNot statedNot stated
LearnUponLearnUponPrice on requestNoNoNot statedNot stated
LitmosLitmos$666.67 a monthNoNoNot statedNot stated
TalentLMSTalentLMS$119 a monthYesNoNot statedNot stated

Starting prices use the cheapest plan with a published price. Where a vendor only quotes, the table says so. Open a product for plan-by-plan prices and the page each figure came from.

Our notes

A learning management system, or LMS, delivers training courses to employees, assigns them to the right people and records who finished what. The seven products on this page each do three things: they deliver courses, they assign training and track it, and they produce reports on completion. We read every price and claim on the vendor's own website, and each product page links to the pages we used. Prices are in US dollars, and a vendor that shows a price without naming its currency is flagged on its product page.

What the three requirements mean

We list a product only if its own pages document all three of these capabilities.

Course delivery means learners can open and complete training inside the product, whether the content was built there or uploaded as a package. Assignments and tracking means an administrator can enroll people, individually or by rule, and see each learner's status. Completion reports means the product can produce a report of who finished which course, ideally one that can be exported or sent on a schedule.

Those requirements are narrow on purpose. A product that only hosts video, or one that sells courses to the public without assigning them to staff, belongs in a different category. Two groups that often show up in "best LMS" lists are left out for that reason: course marketplaces built for creators who sell to consumers, and school systems built around grade books and terms.

The standards behind the file formats

Three technical standards come up on almost every vendor page, and knowing them makes feature lists easier to read.

SCORM is the long-standing package format for e-learning content. A course built in an authoring tool is exported as a SCORM package and uploaded to the LMS, which then records completion and scores. TalentLMS lists SCORM import, and iSpring Learn supports SCORM 1.2 and 2004, so a course library bought elsewhere can usually be loaded into either.

xAPI, also called Tin Can, records learning activity as statements in the form of noun, verb and object. Applications send those statements to a learning record store. xAPI.com describes it as an IEEE-approved standard, IEEE 9274.1.1-2023, which captures activity online and offline from many kinds of technology. 360Learning names xAPI support alongside SCORM for its online courses, according to its product page.

LTI connects outside learning tools to the LMS without a separate login. The 1EdTech description of LTI says version 1.3 moves authentication to OAuth2 and JSON Web Tokens, and that the LTI Advantage extensions can create gradebook columns and post grades. TalentLMS lists LTI 1.3 on its features page, which matters if you plan to plug in third-party assessment tools.

What these seven cost

Only some of the seven publish enough to price a purchase, and the gap is the first thing to know before building a shortlist.

TalentLMS is the only product here with a free plan that has no time limit. It covers up to 5 users and 10 courses. Paid plans are shown at $119, $229 and $449 a month for Core, Grow and Pro, and the Pro plan adds $6 for each additional user. The pricing page says yearly billing saves 20%, though it does not show the yearly dollar totals, and its user band selector is unclear about which price applies to which band. Treat the figures as the entry price for the smallest band and confirm the band you need.

iSpring Learn prices its Business plan per user: $6.91 a month at 100 users, $4.46 at 300 and $3.97 at 500, billed annually. Those tiers work out to $8,286, $16,050 and $23,790 a year. Five times the users costs about 2.9 times as much, so the per-user rate drops quickly with scale. The page offers a 30-day trial with no credit card and mentions a money-back guarantee without stating how many days it lasts.

360Learning publishes one price, $8 per user a month for its Team plan, which covers up to 100 users and is billed monthly with no annual commitment. Business and Enterprise are custom. The pricing FAQ says no minimum number of users is required, and it mentions a 30-day free trial. The page shows a dollar sign without naming the currency.

Litmos gives starting prices per year rather than per user: "Starting at $8K per year" for Foundation and "Starting at $15K per year" for Platinum, with Platinum AI by request. The page does not say how many users each includes, so those figures cannot be compared with per-user pricing until you get a quote.

Docebo, Absorb LMS and LearnUpon publish no prices. Docebo says pricing is based on active learner usage, with monthly active user, yearly active user and registered active user models, and that commercial terms are documented in each agreement. Absorb's pricing page is a form that asks how many learners you have, in bands from 1 to 50 up to 25,000 or more. LearnUpon states minimums: from 100 users for employee training, 150 for associations and 300 for customer education, and its FAQ says it is not a fit for fewer than 100 users.

A published price is not automatically a better deal. Quote-only vendors often serve larger organizations, and the right comparison is the total annual cost for your headcount, including implementation. Continu, which we did not list, states in its pricing FAQ that implementation costs 10% of the first-year contract value, and it is worth asking any quote-only vendor whether a similar fee applies.

How assignment rules differ

All seven can assign training, but they describe the mechanism differently, and the difference shows up in compliance work.

Litmos and Absorb both put rule-based assignment at the center of their pitch. Litmos says courses are assigned automatically by role, location, department or risk classification, and that employees in different states receive their own required courses on their own renewal schedules. Absorb says compliance training is auto-assigned by role, region or regulation. Both fit a business where the rule, not a manager, decides who must take a course.

360Learning describes dynamic enrollment through custom filters that keep assignments current as the workforce changes. It also offers automatic re-enrollment that recycles training when a certificate expires. iSpring Learn offers selection filters by team, job title, country or custom parameters, plus automatic assignments to selected employees. TalentLMS describes learning paths that release training in a set order and automations triggered by completions, expirations or inactivity.

For Docebo and LearnUpon, the vendor pages we could read were thinner on the assignment mechanics. Docebo's pages describe dashboards for enrollments, completions and learning plans, and LearnUpon's describe reports on course status and user progression. Both are established products, but a buyer who needs a specific assignment rule should ask for it in a demo and get the answer in writing.

What the reports actually show

Completion reporting is where product pages are vaguest, so we recorded what each page names.

TalentLMS lists real-time reports of learner progress and completions, scheduled reports emailed weekly or monthly, and custom reports filtered by user activity, learning progress or certifications. It also keeps a timeline with an audit trail. 360Learning lists a custom completion dashboard, downloadable reports and weekly automated emails, and its completion certificates carry start and end dates, time spent, failed attempts and scores.

iSpring Learn names content reports, people reports and quiz reports, and its pages mention Performance Summary and Course Details views. Its page does not use the words "completion report", so ask for a sample before assuming the layout you need exists. Litmos lists manager and executive dashboards with escalation for overdue completions, tamper-evident time-stamped records and exportable audit documentation.

Docebo's learning intelligence page says its pre-built dashboards let you analyze certifications, enrollments, completions, instructor-led sessions and learning plans, and that reports can be emailed as CSV attachments daily, weekly or monthly. LearnUpon lists reports for course status, certificates and credits, exams and surveys, with filtering, export and scheduling. Absorb names Absorb Analyze for custom performance reports and says admins can monitor progress and completion.

Security and compliance on the record

Security claims are easy to blur, so we recorded only what each vendor's own pages state.

TalentLMS's security page lists ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification and GDPR compliance verified under the EU Cloud Code of Conduct, and it does not mention SOC 2. Docebo's compliance page says it maintains an ISO 27001, 27017, 27018 and 27701 certified management system and releases a SOC 2 Type II report each year, with audit reports available under NDA. 360Learning's product page states the platform is GDPR-compliant and links a separate compliance page that we did not review for certifications.

For iSpring Learn, Litmos, Absorb and LearnUpon, the pages we read did not state specific certifications, so the product pages leave those fields blank. That is a gap in what we could verify, not evidence that the vendor lacks the certification. Ask for the current SOC 2 report or ISO certificate and read its scope and date before signing.

Questions to settle before a trial

The product pages answer some questions and leave others open. These are the ones worth settling in writing.

  1. How many learners will count toward the price, and does the vendor count registered users or only active ones? Docebo prices on active usage, which can lower the cost if many accounts sit idle.
  2. Can the export you need be produced without a service request? iSpring's page says additional reports can be requested from the vendor, which suggests some layouts are built on request.
  3. Which tier includes single sign-on and the API? TalentLMS and 360Learning mention single sign-on, but neither page we read ties it to a plan.
  4. What are the term, renewal and cancellation rules? Only 360Learning's Team plan states a monthly term with no annual commitment. For the rest, the contract fields on each product page are blank because the pages we read do not state them.
  5. Who owns the data when you leave, and in what format does it come out? None of the pages we read describe a full data export.

Who should look at which product

The right starting point depends on size and on how much of the buying process you want to run yourself.

A team of 5 people or fewer that wants to test the idea can use TalentLMS's free plan with no time limit. A company of 100 to 500 people that wants a published per-user price can compare iSpring Learn's three tiers and 360Learning's Team plan directly. A regulated business that must prove who took which course, and when, should look first at Litmos, Absorb and Docebo, where assignment by rule and audit records are the core of the pitch.

A larger company with customers or partners to train as well as staff should read LearnUpon's three product lines, since its minimums differ by audience. In every case, run one real course with real learners and export the completion report before committing. A report that looks complete on a vendor page may not carry the columns your auditor expects.

How we picked and what we left out

Products were found by name from vendor pages and kept only if their own pages documented all three requirements. We excluded LearnWorlds because its pricing page showed plan figures without any currency symbol, so we could not confirm the amounts were in dollars. We excluded LearnDash because its price is sold in a bundle with other software and the page did not state a currency. Thinkific and Teachable are built to sell courses to the public and fall outside this category. Canvas and Brightspace did not publish prices on the pages we read, and both are built mainly for schools and universities. Moodle and Open edX could not be checked: Moodle's pages refused our requests, and the Open edX documentation we reached did not describe assignments or reports.

No vendor paid for a place on this page, and none of the products has a paid relationship with us. Criteria on this page are a draft and have not yet been approved by an editor.

What a product needs to be listed

  • course delivery
  • assignments and tracking
  • completion reports

These are draft criteria. An editor approves them before the category opens.

Products in brief

  • 360Learning

    360Learning is an LMS with a published Team plan at $8 per user a month for up to 100 users, billed monthly with no annual commitment, and quote-only Business and Enterprise plans. It enrolls learners automatically from filters, tracks completion on a dashboard and sends scheduled reports.

    From
    $8 a month
    Free plan
    No
  • Absorb Software

    Absorb LMS publishes no prices; its pricing page is a form that asks for learner count, from 1 to 50 up to 25,000 or more, and a salesperson replies. It auto-assigns training by role, region or regulation, shows course progress and completion, and builds custom reports through Absorb Analyze.

    From
    Price on request
    Free plan
    No
  • Docebo

    Docebo sells two quote-only plans, Elevate and Enterprise, priced on active learner usage under monthly, yearly or registered active user models. Its pre-built dashboards cover enrollments, completions, certifications and learning plans, and reports can be emailed as CSV on a daily, weekly or monthly schedule.

    From
    Price on request
    Free plan
    No
  • iSpring Solutions

    iSpring Learn is an LMS sold on published per-user prices for its Business plan: $6.91 per user a month for 100 users, falling to $3.97 at 500 users, billed annually. It supports SCORM 1.2 and 2004, learning tracks with a strict completion order, automatic assignments and content and people reports.

    From
    $3.97 a month
    Free plan
    No
  • LearnUpon

    LearnUpon is a quote-only LMS with stated minimums: from 100 users for employee training, 150 for associations and 300 for customer education. Its reporting suite covers course status, certificates, exams and survey results, and it can filter, export and schedule reports.

    From
    Price on request
    Free plan
    No
  • Litmos

    Litmos is an LMS aimed at compliance training, with pricing that starts at $8,000 a year for Foundation and $15,000 a year for Platinum. It assigns courses by role, location or risk class, re-enrolls staff before certifications expire and exports audit reports.

    From
    $666.67 a month
    Free plan
    No
  • TalentLMS

    TalentLMS is a cloud LMS with a free plan for up to 5 users and 10 courses, then published monthly prices of $119, $229 and $449 for Core, Grow and Pro. It delivers courses and SCORM content, assigns training through learning paths, and offers real-time, scheduled and custom reports.

    From
    $119 a month
    Free plan
    Yes

Prices across 7 products

Lowest starting price
$3.97 a month
Median starting price
$63.50 a month
Free plan
1 of 7
Free trial
2 of 7
Price on request only
3 of 7

Lowest and median prices cover the 4 products with a published flat price in USD.

Who pays us

No product in this category pays us for a subscription, a sponsored placement or an affiliate link.

Payment never changes the order of the list. How we keep it that way

Latest change: First draft. Seven products checked against vendor pages.