Skip to content
B2BRated

Global payroll software compared

Eight global payroll providers compared on country coverage, local compliance, consolidated reporting and the prices each publishes, checked at the source.

Also searched as international payroll

Products checked
8
Order of the list
Alphabetical

8 products meet the inclusion criteria. Reviews are not open yet, so the list is in alphabetical order and carries no scores.

Compare at a glance

Filter the tableShow only8 of 8 products
Products compared by starting price, plans and security
ADP Global PayrollADPPrice on requestNoNoNot statedNot stated
CloudPayCloudPayPrice on requestNoNoNot statedNot stated
DeelDeel$599 a monthNoNoYesNot stated
LanoLano€499 a monthNoNoYesNot stated
PlayrollPlayroll$399 a monthNoNoNot statedNot stated
RemoteRemote$39 a monthNoNoYesNot stated
RipplingRippling$8 a monthNoNoNot statedNot stated
Safeguard GlobalSafeguard GlobalPrice on requestNoNoNot statedNot stated

Starting prices use the cheapest plan with a published price. Where a vendor only quotes, the table says so. Open a product for plan-by-plan prices and the page each figure came from.

Our notes

A finance lead at a company with entities in Germany, Singapore and Brazil gets three payroll reports from three local providers, in three formats, on three calendars. Closing the month means rebuilding those into one view of headcount and cost by hand. Global payroll software and services exist to remove that step. The eight products on this page each run payroll in more than one country, build local tax rules into the calculation, and report across countries. We read every claim and price on the vendor's own website, and each product page links to the pages we used.

What global payroll covers and what it does not

Global payroll is payroll for employees you already employ through your own legal entities in several countries. That separates it from an employer of record, where the vendor becomes the legal employer in a country where you have no company. Our guide to employer of record services covers that model. Several vendors here sell both, and Deel, Remote, Playroll and Lano list global payroll as a separate product from their employer of record plans.

A buyer with an entity in each country and a local payroll vendor in each one is often looking for a layer on top, not a replacement. Some products on this page act as that layer. Playroll says it consolidates data and reporting whether Playroll or your local vendors run the payroll, and Lano says it can centralize data from multiple providers and systems into one platform. Others run the payroll itself in every country. Ask which of the two models you would be buying, because the answer changes who is accountable when a filing is late.

Why local compliance is the hard part

Payroll rules differ in ways that a currency conversion does not fix. In the United States the Internal Revenue Service lists federal income tax, Additional Medicare Tax, and the employer and employee shares of Social Security and Medicare taxes as taxes an employer must withhold and deposit. Those are a US definition and have no direct equivalent elsewhere.

The United Kingdom works differently. Under Real Time Information, an employer reports payments and deductions to HMRC through a Full Payment Submission, and HMRC's guidance says to send it on or before the employees' payday. A payroll run is therefore not finished when the money moves. The report to the tax authority has its own deadline, and a provider that pays correctly but files late has still failed the customer.

Multiply that by every country and the case for a specialist is clear. The question for a buyer is how the vendor keeps its rules current. Vendors answer in different ways. Remote says its payroll and compliance specialists build statutory updates into the platform. Deel says changes to local payroll rules are applied as regulations evolve. CloudPay describes in-country legislation experts. Safeguard Global has a section headed local experts, full compliance, and ADP Global Payroll cites deep local regulatory and compliance expertise. None of these pages publishes an accuracy guarantee we could verify, so ask for the vendor's written terms on penalties caused by its own errors.

One platform or a network of partners

Global payroll vendors tend to build in one of two ways. A unified platform calculates payroll for every country inside one system. A network model puts a central platform on top of local payroll partners in each country. Workday states the second approach plainly on its global payroll page: it says local payroll requirements are addressed through a trusted network of certified payroll partners, and it cites coverage in over 180 countries. Workday's payroll sits inside its larger HR suite, so we do not rank it here.

The vendors on this page rarely describe their own model in a sentence you can quote. That gap matters in practice. If your payroll in a given country is run by a partner, the contract, the data processing terms and the escalation path all involve a company you may never meet. CloudPay says your only contract is with CloudPay, which tells you who holds the commercial relationship but not who runs the calculation in each country. Ask for a list of countries where the vendor runs payroll directly and countries where a partner does.

Country coverage claims

Every vendor here states a country count, except two. The counts are self-reported and measure different things, so they are a starting point for a question and not a way to rank.

Product Countries stated Notes
Lano 170+ Home page, covers compliance and reporting
Safeguard Global 170+ Same page also offers a list of 187 countries
Deel 150+ Global payroll page
ADP Global Payroll 140+ Countries and territories
Remote 100+ Pay in local currency
Playroll 45+ Entities run from one platform
CloudPay Not stated Says five countries or 50
Rippling Not stated Says worldwide

Playroll's 45+ is far lower than the others, and it is the most specific about what it means: payroll for your entities in those countries. A smaller number from a vendor that explains its scope can be more useful than a large one with no definition. If your entities sit in 12 countries, what matters is whether all 12 are on the vendor's list, not how long the list is.

Treat any page that gives two different counts with caution. Safeguard Global's page title says 170+ and another line offers 187. The company may be counting differently for payroll and for other services, and a written list resolves it in one email.

Consolidated reporting

Consolidated reporting is the feature buyers most often assume and least often test. At minimum it means one place where finance can see payroll cost and headcount across entities, in one currency or with the conversion shown. The vendors describe it in different words.

Safeguard Global promises standardized payroll outputs and reports for every country and every pay run. CloudPay says a Local Payroll Information capability consolidates all global pay data into a single interface, with real-time reporting through customizable dashboards. ADP Global Payroll says customers can access consolidated, real-time payroll data across countries. Deel says it tracks status, variances and gross-to-net calculations across all countries and worker types. Remote lists reports by country, entity and cost center, and Rippling says employee data across the world can be reported on in one place.

Those are descriptions, not demonstrations. Before you sign, ask to see a sample report with real column headings. Check whether it shows gross pay, employer contributions and net pay by country, whether it can be exported to your ledger, and whether it lets you filter by cost center. A report that lists only totals will not help a controller reconcile to the general ledger.

What global payroll costs

Only three of the eight publish a payroll price, and those prices are not directly comparable. Rippling shows a general starting figure instead.

Product Published starting price Unit
Playroll $9 Per employee per month, minimums apply
Remote $29 Per employee per month, no base fee
Lano 19 euros Per employee per month for multi-country payroll
Lano 3 euros Per employee per month for payroll consolidation
Rippling $8 plus a base fee General platform figure, not a payroll price

Deel, ADP Global Payroll, Safeguard Global and CloudPay publish no payroll price. Deel's pricing page lists prices for contractors, employer of record and US PEO, and none for global payroll alone. The other three offer a contact form or a demo.

Each number has a condition. Playroll states that minimums apply and does not give the amount. Remote's $29 applies to paying employees in countries where you own the entity, and the page says there is no base fee and no setup or onboarding fee. Lano's prices are in euros, so a US buyer should add the exchange rate. Lano also charges 25 euros per SWIFT payment, and says local-network payments are free where available. Rippling's page says plans start at $8 per employee per month with a monthly base fee and does not state the base fee, so the $8 cannot be read as the cost of global payroll.

A price per employee is also not the whole bill. Setup, a fee per country, a charge per pay group, payment and currency conversion costs and the cost of any partner-run countries can all sit outside the headline figure. Playroll's analytics product shows the pattern: $2.07 per employee per month plus $21 to $200 per pay group. Ask each vendor for a quote built from your real headcount in your real countries.

Contract terms

The pages say little about terms, which is itself a finding. CloudPay's page states that your only contract is with CloudPay and gives no length. Remote's pricing page does not state a contract term for global payroll. Deel's FAQ says it offers month-to-month pricing with no long-term commitments, a statement made about its pricing in general. A two-year order form earns a platform fee credit and carries repayment conditions if ended early, so read the promotion terms before accepting any discount.

Payroll is a hard service to switch. Moving to a new provider mid-year means carrying year-to-date balances, tax registrations and employee records into a new system. Ask what format you get your history in, how long the vendor keeps running payroll while you migrate, and whether a notice period overlaps a quarter end.

Security and data

Payroll data includes salaries, bank details and tax identifiers. The security statements we found are uneven. Lano states it is SOC 2 Type II certified in a May 2024 post, and Deel and Remote list SOC 2, ISO 27001 and GDPR compliance on pages we read for their employer of record products. ADP Global Payroll names no SOC or ISO report on its payroll page and instead cites 300+ security specialists. Safeguard Global and CloudPay name no certification on the pages we read. CloudPay links to a trust center, which we did not read and which may answer the question.

A missing statement on a marketing page is not proof of a missing report. It means the report has to be requested. Ask for the most recent SOC 2 Type II report, its date and its scope, and ask whether the payroll product and any partner network sit inside that scope.

Integrations

Payroll output has to reach a ledger, and input has to come from an HR system. CloudPay names Workday, Oracle, HiBob and SAP SuccessFactors as HCM partners. Lano names HiBob, Workday, Personio, Sage and Zoho People, and Playroll names HiBob and BambooHR. Deel lists QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite, Okta and BambooHR among others, and Remote lists Workday, Personio and BambooHR. Rippling cites more than 650 integrations, including Slack, Microsoft Teams and Salesforce. ADP and Safeguard Global name none on the pages we read, although ADP says its solutions connect to popular software, ERPs and HR systems.

The lists we read come from several different pages and products, so confirm that the integration works with the payroll product and not only with the vendor's employer of record or HR product.

Which kind of buyer fits which product

A company with a handful of entities and a small finance team that wants a published price can start with the vendors that show one: Playroll, Remote and Lano. A company that already owns an HR suite and wants payroll bolted on may prefer Rippling, whose pitch is one employee record across HR, payroll and IT. Large multinationals with dozens of countries and an existing HCM system should read the pages from ADP Global Payroll, Safeguard Global and CloudPay first, since those pages speak to scale and consolidated reporting and stay silent on price. Deel suits a team that wants payroll, contractors and employer of record on one platform.

What to test before signing

  • Ask for a country list for your entities and mark which countries the vendor runs itself and which a partner runs.
  • Ask for a sample consolidated report and check that it reconciles to your general ledger.
  • Request a quote built from your actual headcount, including setup, per-country, per-pay-group and currency fees.
  • Ask how the vendor tracks changes to payroll rules, and what it pays when its own error creates a penalty.
  • Ask for the latest SOC 2 Type II report date and whether the partner network is in scope.

What a product needs to be listed

  • payroll in multiple countries
  • local compliance
  • consolidated reporting

These are draft criteria. An editor approves them before the category opens.

Products in brief

  • ADP

    ADP Global Payroll runs payroll for companies with their own entities in 140+ countries and territories. It publishes no price, so cost comes from a quote requested through the vendor's pricing and demo forms.

    From
    Price on request
    Free plan
    No
  • CloudPay

    CloudPay sells managed global payroll for companies paying staff in anywhere from five countries to 50, with in-country legislation experts and one interface for pay data from every country. It publishes no price, and the page points to a contact form.

    From
    Price on request
    Free plan
    No
  • Deel

    Deel employs your hires through its own entities so you can pay people in a country where you have no company. Its employer of record plan starts at $599 per employee per month on month-to-month terms, and the vendor says local compliance, payroll and benefits administration are included in the quote.

    From
    $599 a month
    Free plan
    No
  • Lano

    Lano lets you employ people in 170+ countries without local entities, with country-specific contracts and benefits. It lists its price in euros only, from 499 euros per employee per month, so US buyers should expect currency conversion on top.

    From
    €499 a month
    Free plan
    No
  • Playroll

    Playroll hires in 180+ countries with no local entity and has its in-house legal team check each contract. It starts at $399 per employee per month with no minimum commitment, and asks for a refundable deposit equal to one month's salary.

    From
    $399 a month
    Free plan
    No
  • Remote

    Remote employs your hires through entities it owns in 90+ countries and runs payroll in-house. The employer of record plan starts at $599 per employee per month on an annual contract, with no setup fee and no standard deposit.

    From
    $39 a month
    Free plan
    No
  • Rippling

    Rippling sells HR, payroll and IT as separate products on one employee record. Its pricing page says plans start at $8 per employee per month plus a monthly base fee whose amount is not shown, and the total comes from a custom quote based on the products chosen.

    From
    $8 a month
    Free plan
    No
  • Safeguard Global

    Safeguard Global's Global Pay service covers payroll in 170+ countries, with local experts for compliance and standardized reports for every country and pay run. It publishes no price, and the page sends buyers to a contact form.

    From
    Price on request
    Free plan
    No

Prices across 8 products

Lowest starting price
$8 a month
Median starting price
$219 a month
Free plan
0 of 8
Free trial
0 of 8
Price on request only
3 of 8

Lowest and median prices cover the 4 products with a published flat price in USD.

Who pays us

No product in this category pays us for a subscription, a sponsored placement or an affiliate link.

Payment never changes the order of the list. How we keep it that way

Latest change: First draft. Eight products checked against vendor pages.