Paddle
By Paddle.com Market Limited
Paddle acts as merchant of record, so it sells to the buyer, collects and remits sales tax and VAT, and handles refunds and chargebacks. It charges 5% plus 50 cents per checkout transaction with no monthly fee, and pays sellers once a month.
- From
- 5% + $0.50 per checkout transaction
- Free plan
- No
- Free trial
- No
Pricing
Taken from the vendor's pricing page.
| Plan | Price | Charged | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pay as you go | 5% + $0.50 per checkout transaction | per transaction | No monthly fee. Includes payment processing, tax compliance, fraud protection and chargeback handling. Invoices paid by bank transfer cost 3.5% of the sale price |
| Custom | On request | per account | For high-volume businesses |
Costs not in the plan price
- Chargebacks cost $20 each (40 CAD or AUD), and the fee is kept even if Paddle wins the dispute.
- Converting a buyer's currency carries a 2% margin for USD, EUR and GBP and up to 3% for other currencies.
- Each international bank transfer payout costs $15, and paying out in a different currency adds a margin of up to 1.5%.
- Checkout Recovery takes 10% of each recovered checkout.
Categories it qualifies for
Facts we checked
- In June 2025 Paddle agreed to pay $5 million to settle FTC allegations of unfair payment processing for tech-support telemarketers, and it is banned from processing payments for them. Source
- Paddle's FAQ on the FTC settlement says it does not admit the allegations beyond the formalities needed for jurisdiction. Source
- Buyers' card statements show PADDLE.NET followed by the seller's name, and PayPal statements show PAYPAL *PADDLE.NET. Source
- Failed renewal payments are retried up to seven times over 30 days by default. Source
- Paddle says that when a seller leaves, it moves customers' saved payment details to the new provider's PCI-compliant vault within 2 weeks. Source
- Payouts are sent once a month, by the 15th, with a $100 minimum. Source
Security and compliance
- SOC 2
- Yes
- ISO 27001
- Not stated
- GDPR
- Yes
- HIPAA
- Not stated
- Single sign-on
- Not stated
Taken from the vendor's security page.
Contract terms
- Annual contract required
- No
- Minimum seats
- None stated
- Renews automatically
- Not stated
- Cancellation
- Either side can end the agreement with 30 days' written notice. Paddle can suspend an account and hold fees in listed cases, such as excessive chargebacks, and releases held funds after termination at the later of six months or the end of the last subscription.
- Data export
- Subscriber data from the dashboard, and saved payment details moved to a new provider's PCI-compliant vault within 2 weeks.source
Taken from the vendor's terms.
Reviews
Review collection has not opened yet, so there are no reviews to show. When it opens, reviewers will confirm their identity with a work email or LinkedIn before a review is published.
Who pays us
Paddle.com Market Limited does not pay us anything.