Feature flag software compared
Eight feature flag tools compared on targeting rules, gradual rollouts, SDK coverage and prices checked at the source, from free tiers to quotes.
Also searched as feature management, feature toggles
- Products checked
- 8
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
- Order of the list
- Alphabetical
8 products meet the inclusion criteria. Reviews are not open yet, so the list is in alphabetical order and carries no scores.
Compare at a glance
| ConfigCatConfigCat | $110 a month | Yes | No | Not stated | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DevCycleDevCycle | Price on request | Yes | No | Not stated | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
| FlagsmithFlagsmith | $40 a month | Yes | 14 days | Not stated | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
| FliptFlipt | $200 a month | Yes | 14 days | Not stated | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
| GrowthBookGrowthBook | $40 a month | Yes | No | Not stated | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
| LaunchDarklyLaunchDarkly | $10 a month | Yes | 14 days | Not stated | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
| StatsigStatsig | $150 a month | Yes | No | Not stated | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
| UnleashUnleash | $75 a month | Yes | 14 days | Not stated | Not stated | November 4, 2026 |
Starting prices use the cheapest plan with a published price. Where a vendor only quotes, the table says so. Open a product for plan-by-plan prices and the page each figure came from.
Our notes
Feature flag software lets a team change what users see without shipping new code. A flag is a switch evaluated at run time, so a release can reach a few users first, be turned off in seconds if it misbehaves, and be switched on for everyone later. The eight products here all offer flag targeting rules, gradual rollouts and SDKs for major languages. We read every price on the vendor's own website on November 4, 2026, and each product page links to the pages we used.
What the three must-haves mean
Targeting rules decide who gets a flag value. A rule matches on attributes of the user or request, such as country, plan or email domain, and serves a chosen value when the conditions hold. LaunchDarkly describes targeting rules as the mechanism for expressing precedence and conditions across several context kinds. On Unleash, every constraint on a strategy must match, and the flag is enabled if any one of its strategies matches.
Gradual rollouts expose a feature to a share of users and raise that share over time. GrowthBook and Unleash hash an identifier so a given user keeps the same experience as the percentage grows. DevCycle documents rollouts with a start percentage, an end percentage and dates, plus multi-step rollouts with percentage milestones. Statsig gives each gate rule a Split % setting for the share of matching users who pass.
SDKs for major languages matter because the flag check runs inside your code. Statsig, Unleash, DevCycle and GrowthBook list server SDKs for Node.js, Python, Java and Go, and most of the eight add mobile and browser SDKs. ConfigCat lists SDKs for 16 platforms, including Unity and Unreal Engine. The lists differ, so check yours against the product page before you commit.
Hosted service or something you run
The first split is between vendors that mainly sell a hosted service and those with a self-hosted core. Flipt is open source with unlimited flags in its free edition, and sells Flipt Pro at $200 a month for up to 10 instances. The open source edition of Unleash is limited to 1 project, 2 environments and 5,000 flags per instance. GrowthBook lists an open source self-hosted plan with 1 project and unlimited flags, experiments and traffic.
Running your own flag server adds work. Someone must patch it, keep it available and answer for the data it holds. In exchange, flag evaluation can stay inside your network, and the price is infrastructure rather than a per-seat bill. Hosted plans move that work to the vendor, and the price follows seats, requests, users or events.
OpenFeature is worth knowing here. It is an Apache 2 licensed specification for a vendor-agnostic feature flag API and a CNCF incubating project. Code written against it can change flag provider with less rework, which lowers the cost of a first choice. Check each vendor's documentation for a current provider before relying on it.
Four ways vendors charge
Feature flag pricing is less uniform than most categories. Vendors pick different meters, and the same team can pay very different amounts depending on which meter matches how it works.
Per seat pricing charges for the people who manage flags. The Pay-As-You-Go plan from Unleash costs $75 per seat per month on a monthly card with no contract, and a self-hosted install needs at least 5 seats. GrowthBook Pro costs $40 per seat per month for up to 30 users and 3 projects. ConfigCat and DevCycle say seats are unlimited, and LaunchDarkly Foundation charges no seat fee.
Request based pricing charges for the volume of flag evaluations or configuration downloads. Flagsmith includes 50,000 requests a month free, 1,000,000 on Start-Up at $40 a month on yearly billing, and 5,000,000 or more on Scale-Up at $250. Extra calls start at $50 per million. ConfigCat counts config JSON downloads, with 5 million on Forever Free and 25 million on Pro.
User based pricing charges for monthly active users. LaunchDarkly Foundation bills $8.33 per 1K client-side monthly active users per month in its plan card and $10 in its comparison table, plus $10 per service connection. DevCycle Business includes 100,000 monthly active users and charges $2.50 per 1,000 beyond that.
Event based pricing charges for analytics and experiment data. Statsig Pro costs $150 a month with 5 million events, then $0.05 per additional 1K events. Flag and config checks themselves are unlimited on its plans.
A worked comparison
Take a small team of five engineers who want hosted flags for a backend service and a web app. On Unleash Pay-As-You-Go, five seats cost $375 a month before any request overage beyond 53M. On GrowthBook Pro, five seats cost $200 a month. On ConfigCat the team pays $110 a month for Pro with up to 100 flags, whatever the seat count. On Statsig the team pays $150 a month for Pro, or nothing on Developer while it stays under 2 million events.
The free tiers are narrower than they look. ConfigCat Forever Free allows 10 flags and 4 targeting rules per flag. Flagsmith Free allows one team member. GrowthBook Starter allows three users. DevCycle Free allows 1,000 client-side monthly active users, and LaunchDarkly Developer allows 1K client-side monthly active users and 5 service connections. A real product with more than a few thousand users will leave these quickly.
These figures use the dollar prices shown on each page. None of the eight pages names a currency code beside its dollar signs, and ConfigCat does not say whether its displayed monthly prices follow the monthly or annual billing toggle. We recorded the amounts as shown and noted the gaps on each product page.
Plan limits that matter before price does
Several plans gate the features that teams adopt later. ConfigCat limits targeting rules per flag to 4 on Forever Free and 8 on Pro. A flag with a rule for each of five customer tiers will not fit on the free plan. Its audit log is kept for 7 days on Forever Free, 35 days on Pro and 2 years on Enterprise.
Approvals and governance also sit higher up. LaunchDarkly lists workflows, approvals, custom roles and SCIM provisioning under Enterprise. Flagsmith lists SAML single sign-on on Scale-Up, and marks LDAP and SCIM as coming soon on Enterprise. If a regulator or customer asks who changed a production flag, the audit and approval features are what answer.
Release monitoring is a separate purchase at some vendors. LaunchDarkly sells Guardian, for guardrail metrics and automatic rollback, as a separately priced add-on. Statsig bundles experiment analysis into its event meter instead, and stops Metric Lift computations on Developer above 2 million events while leaving gate targeting running.
One product is hard to price
DevCycle shows its Business plan as $500 a month billed annually on the plan card, and $625 a month in the pricing breakdown. The page does not explain the gap. Our product page leaves the price blank for that reason, and a buyer should ask for a written quote before budgeting.
LaunchDarkly has a smaller inconsistency of the same kind in its client-side price. Flagsmith's page lists Scale-Up extra team members at $50 each per month, shown beside a struck-through $60. Prices in this category move often, so treat every figure as a snapshot dated on the product page.
Experimentation alongside flags
Four of the eight products pair flags with experiments. GrowthBook says its plans include unlimited experiments. Statsig's pricing is built around events used for gates, experiments and analytics. LaunchDarkly counts experimentation monthly active users, with 100K on Developer. Flagsmith lists A/B and multivariate testing from Start-Up and counts users in experiments.
If you only need to turn features on and off by rule, ConfigCat, Flipt and Unleash are the narrowest fit. If product teams want to measure the effect of a release, the experiment meter becomes part of the price, and you should model it from your own traffic.
Why Harness is not listed
The Harness pricing page names feature management and experimentation (FME) as a module. We left it out because that pricing page lists no price, limits or plan for FME, and names it only as a module you can pick on the quoted Enterprise plan. The existing Harness page covers its CI and CD products in CI/CD. PostHog also offers flags, but its pricing page did not return feature flag figures when we fetched it, so we did not include it.
What to test during a trial
- Write a rule that targets one test user by attribute, then change the attribute and confirm the value changes.
- Roll a flag from 10% to 50% and check that the same test users stay in the exposed group.
- Switch a flag off during load and time how long your SDK takes to see the change.
- Disconnect the SDK from the flag service and confirm which default value the code serves.
- Export or read the audit log for a flag change, and check how long it is retained on your plan.
- Add your expected monthly users, requests and events to the vendor's meter and compare the result with the displayed price.
Related tools sit in neighbouring categories. Teams that run flags as part of a delivery pipeline often compare CI/CD products too, and those watching releases in production look at error tracking and APM.
What a product needs to be listed
- flag targeting rules
- gradual rollouts
- sdks for major languages
These are draft criteria. An editor approves them before the category opens.
Products in brief
ConfigCat
ConfigCat prices feature flags by plan rather than by seat, with unlimited seats and unlimited flag reads on every tier. A Forever Free plan allows 10 flags, Pro costs $110 a month for 100 flags, and Smart costs $325 for unlimited flags.
- From
- $110 a month
- Free plan
- Yes
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
DevCycle
DevCycle sells feature flags with unlimited seats on every plan. The Free plan allows 1,000 client-side monthly active users. The Business plan is shown as $500 a month billed annually on the plan card but $625 a month in the breakdown, so the price needs confirming with the vendor.
- From
- Price on request
- Free plan
- Yes
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Flagsmith
Flagsmith offers hosted feature flags with a free plan for one team member and 50,000 requests a month. Start-Up costs $40 a month on yearly billing or $45 monthly, and Scale-Up costs $250 or $300. Enterprise is quoted and can run from cloud to air-gapped.
- From
- $40 a month
- Free plan
- Yes
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Flipt
Flipt is an open source feature flag tool that you run yourself, with unlimited flags in the free edition. Flipt Pro costs $200 a month for up to 10 instances with a 14-day trial. Enterprise is quoted and bills annually by invoice.
- From
- $200 a month
- Free plan
- Yes
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
GrowthBook
GrowthBook combines feature flags with experimentation and can be self-hosted. The cloud Starter plan is free for up to 3 users and the Pro plan costs $40 per seat per month. Feature flags, experiments and traffic are unlimited on both.
- From
- $40 a month
- Free plan
- Yes
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
LaunchDarkly
LaunchDarkly is a hosted feature flag service with a free Developer plan and a usage-based Foundation plan. Foundation has no seat or platform fee and bills $10 per service connection per month plus client-side monthly active users. Advanced targeting, approvals and SCIM sit on the quoted Enterprise plan.
- From
- $10 a month
- Free plan
- Yes
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Statsig
Statsig bundles feature gates with experimentation and analytics. Flag and config checks are unlimited on every plan, and pricing depends on events. Developer is free with 2 million events a month, and Pro costs $150 a month with 5 million events.
- From
- $150 a month
- Free plan
- Yes
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Unleash
The open source edition of Unleash is free but limited to 1 project, 2 environments and 5,000 flags per instance. Its paid Pay-As-You-Go plan costs $75 per seat per month on a monthly card with no contract. Enterprise annual contracts are quoted.
- From
- $75 a month
- Free plan
- Yes
- Prices checked
- November 4, 2026
Prices across 8 products
- Lowest starting price
- $10 a month
- Median starting price
- $75 a month
- Free plan
- 8 of 8
- Free trial
- 4 of 8
- Price on request only
- 0 of 8
Lowest and median prices cover the 7 products with a published flat price in USD.
Who pays us
No product in this category pays us for a subscription, a sponsored placement or an affiliate link.
Payment never changes the order of the list. How we keep it that way
Last updated November 4, 2026: First draft. Eight products checked against vendor pages and documentation.